Minutes of the Meeting of the INDUSTRY ADVISORY COMMITTEE Of the INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX AGREEMENT July 20, 2006 Las Vegas, NV

Donna Burch, Chairperson of the Committee, opened the meeting, welcomed the attendees, and referred to the anti-trust policies and guidelines of the Committee. Self-introductions followed. (An attendee list is attached.) Gary Frohlich, chairman of the Board of Trustees, addressed the Committee expressing appreciation for the work of the IAC. The minutes of the January 2006 meeting of the Committee were approved and will be presented to the IFTA Board. Mahlon Gragen had been appointed to the Steering Committee upon the resignation of Deann Williams and his appointment was ratified by a unanimous vote by the IAC.

The 2006 ballots were reviewed and the IAC position on each was presented. Numerous comments were given generally in support of the IAC position. Tom Klingman, however, opposed the position of the IAC on Ballot #6 concerning the acceptance of returns and asked that his position be noted in the minutes.

Tom Klingman reviewed the progress of the Dispute Resolution Committee. The Committee members were encouraged to read and support the DRC ballot when it is presented. For the Industry Presentation at the Audit Workshop in January, Donna Burch and John Jabas will work together to gather information from other members of the Committee. Also, Fred Alleman, Chairperson for the Audit Committee (and organizer of the Audit Workshop), asked for the IAC's opinion on a closed session during the audit workshop for jurisdictions to discuss audit methodologies and other items of concern to the jurisdictions. Because specific licensees might be included in the discussion, the Planning Committee felt that it needed to be a closed-door session. The IAC strongly opposed such a session during the workshop.

Scott Bryer of New Hampshire introduced a new committee, the Technology Committee, and requested industry representation. A brief discussion was made concerning New York having passed legislation exempting and applying reduced tax rates to specific biofuel blends that will add complexity to the IFTA reporting. An issue was raised about additional decals that are ordered for turnover, but are never used and are not fully accounted for. At least one jurisdiction is assessing fuel tax on imaginary vehicles that could have carried those lost decals. As part of the discussion Tom Klingman shared parts of the Best Practices Audit guide produced by the Agreement Procedures Committee. Several items, including accounting for decals, are incorporated into the guide which are outside the Agreement. Gary Frohlich mentioned that the guide was simply a draft and is not enforceable. The IFTA Board has not reviewed the guide yet.

The next IAC meeting will follow the Audit Workshop in January 2007 at the Mission Palms Hotel in Tempe.

Non-IFTA Discussion

UCR Update – John Jabas explained that 3 committees have been formed and that language extending the effective date of UCR by one year has been introduced in a bill.

IRP Update – The last IRP meeting included representatives from almost every jurisdiction. Seventy-six items subject to rewrite were discussed at the request of the jurisdictions. The rewrite will presented as a whole and will have to pass in total or not at all. The rewrite is expected to be complete by July 31st.

Weight-distance taxes – It appears that the efforts of the industry are moving backwards with Oregon's test of weight-mile taxes for passenger autos and a similar nationwide test recently approved by the FHwA.

Other State Taxes - Apportioned property tax in KY has been eliminated and moved to the registration process.

CVISN – New expanded CVISN projects should be monitored closely by industry.

Federal Highway Use Tax – The instructions to the Form 2290 are incorrect concerning claims for refund. Claims may be made after June 30, **2006.**

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Gary Bennion – IFTA IAC Vice-Chair

UFIA INCLUSTRY ACTUSORY GOMMITTE

Name (Steering Committee)	E-Mail	Phone Number	Attending 7/20 Meeting
Donna M. Burch	donna_burch@ryder.com	305-500-3154	X
Gary Bennion	bennion.gary@cnf.com	503-450-3686	X
Robert Pitcher	rpitcher@trucking.org	703-838-7939	
Mahlon Gragen	Mgragen@atcleasing.com	262-605-6436	X
Page Dunnegan	Page_Dunnegan@unigroupinc.com	636-305-6960	X
Tom Klingman	tklingman@ups.com	678-334-3265	X

Name (Committee Members)	E-Mail	Phone Number	Attending 7/20 Meeting
Diana Cunningham	dcunning@fadu.com	317-818-8382	
Cheryl Reeves	creeves@comdata.com	260-482-5245	
Lowell Marquette	Lowell.marquette@fedex.com	412-262-6267	
John Jabas	jjabas@ffex.com	214-819-5582	X
B.J. Henderson	bj_itc@junct.com	800-783-5305	X
Tom Rushfeldt	trush@inter-tax.com	952-512-9000 x 101	X
Connie Owen	cowen@jjkeller.com	920-727-7345	X
Juli Dorrough	juli-dorrough@jbhunt.com	479-820-8730	X
Dale Hanington	Daleh@mmta.com		
Larry Davis	Ohtrukassn@aol.com		
Dennis Wheeler	dennis.wheeler@roadway.com		
Russ Cerniglia	Rcernigl@ruan.com		
Bob Jones	bob.jones@ryanco.com	913-338-2005	X
Brent Meadows	brentmeadows@rbm-consulting.com	877-874-1711	X
Dan Eisinger	Dan.j.eisinger@supervalu.com	952-906-6207	X
Sandy Johnson	sandy@totaltrucking.com	403-220-9829	X
Andrew Spoerri	spoerri@tc.gc.ca		

IFTA Industry Advisory Committee July 20, 2006

Name (Committee Members)	E-Mail	Phone Number	Attending 7/20 Meeting
Victor Parra	Vparra@uma.org	703-838-2929	
Ken Meek	ken.meek@yellowcorp.com	913-344-3766	X
Carol Sprott	carol.sprott@fadu.com	817-303-1805	X
Chris Allen	Callen72@earthlink.met	919-424-6350	
Rick Jacobson	jrick@fleetlegal.com	972-576-2629	X
Karen Kooistra	kkoistra@stagecall.com	480-813-2288	
Bryan Gerl	gerlb@schneider.com	920-592-3050	

UFIA INCLUSTRY ACTUSORY GOMMITTE

Name (Visitors)	E-Mail / Company / Jurisdiction	Phone Number	Attending 7/20 Meeting
Ric Listella	Ricarelo.m.listella@odot.state.or.us	503-378-6653	X
Gary Frohlick	gfrohlick@finance.gov.sk.ca	306-77-6616	X
Kirk Davenport	Kirk.davenport@cpa.state.tx.us	512-463-3849	X
Doug Shepherd	Doug.shepherd@boe.ca.gov	916-445-0982	X
Debora Meise	demise@iftach.org	480-839-4382	X
Lonette Turner	lturner@iftch.org	480-839-4382	X
Sonia Sanders	Sonia.sanders@ky.gov	502-564-7000	X
Julian Fitzgerald	Julian.Fitzgerald@dornc.com	919-733-8200	X
Edie Martin	Edie martin@kdor.state.ks.us	785-296-5327	X
Patricia Platt	Patricia platt@kdor.state.ks.us	785-291-3670	X
Carl Hasselback	c@jimstruckplaza.com	716-861-4195	X
Barbara Dieter	bdieter@ryder.com	305-500-3674	X
Rick Callan	Rick.callen@sirva.com		X
Jim Poe	jpoe@dor.in.gov	317-232-8257	X
Scott Bryer	bryers@safety.state.nh.us	603-271-2387	X
Kim Craig	Kim.craig@fin.gov.on.ca		X
Becca Kandler	rkandler@jjkeller.com	920-727-7295	X
Franca Ierullo	fierullo@comdata.com	905-660-1092	X
Tony Cordato	tcordato@comdata.com	972-584-8823	X
Dean Rosci	daservices@aol.com	610-789-6071	X
		_	

Χ

317-615-7209

Indiana DOR

Brain Lehane